PIP provides a source of payment for YOUR medical bills and some of YOUR wage loss following an auto accident. Further, PIP is no-fault, meaning that it will begin paying on your injuries immediately, rather than waiting for liability to be determined. Similarly, Med Pay provides some coverage for YOUR medical bills. These are called "no-fault" coverages because they pay even if the accident is your fault.
By law, every auto insurance policy sold in Oregon must include personal injury protection (PIP), which is called "no-fault," providing coverage if you’re injured while either operating or maintaining a vehicle. PIP can also provide coverage if you are injured by a vehicle on a bicycle or as a pedestrian. Because it is "no-fault," no matter the at-fault party for an accident, personal injury protection will pay for your injuries. PIP insurance provides coverage for:
- Medical expenses
- Lost income and wages
- Funeral expenses
- Other expenses arising from your injury
The minimum coverage under Oregon law for PIP coverage is $15,000. However, buyers may always buy a policy with higher limits if desired. PIP policies vary depending on carrier and cost, sometimes having a deductible (which can reduce your premium). However, the maximum deductible allowed in Oregon is $250, so it is unlikely to substantially reduce your premiums.